Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian-jennifer-armentrout-150x225

After reading Jennifer’s Covenant series I was able to go to one of her book signings for TPWF in Austin this year! It was fun I had never met one of my favorite authors before and when we got to the Q&A part everyone had questions for another series of hers the Lux series. I had completely overlooked this series mostly due to the fact that it’s about aliens in high school…. Need I say more? Well maybe see I thought being a 32 yr old mother of two boys made me too old to read a book about high school. I just wasn’t going there. But as they started asking her questions and I saw how excited everyone was about the series my interest perked. Then Jennifer asked if anyone in the room hadn’t read the series yet…. I was the only one to raise my hand yeah I felt a little out of place. So I went home and started reading. And. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down! It is so much more than aliens in high school!  I love the snarky characters and the love hate relationship between Katy and daemon. Don’t even get me started on Daemon Black! I have come to tell people who ask about these books that everyone needs a little Daemon Black in their lives!!  So needless to say I am a fan now to this series! 
My Rating: 4Stars
After the death of her father Katy Swartz and her mom are looking for a new start. Just moving to a one stop light town in Virginia was not what she had in mind. Small towns can be weird but she soon realizes that her next door neighbors are definitely strange. The Black twins are polar opposites of each other and while befriending Dee was easy Daemon is a different story. He is the holy trinity of hotness. Model body, smart, but he takes douchery to a whole new level. Katy immediately finds herself drawn towards his good looks but at the same time can’t stand it when he opens his mouth! The more time she spends with the Blacks the more weird things start to happen around them. She just can’t put her finger on what is so different about them until the night Daemon saves her life and she finds out their hidden secret. She is living next door to aliens! Now she is irrevocably tied to Daemon and must find a way to keep their secret safe not only her kind but also from their own.
Published By: Entangled Publishing, LLC
Publication Date: May 2012
Date Read: 6/7/2015
Genre: YA
Source: Purchased
Format: Nook Ebook
Pages: 272
Leave a Reply

